Why We(b)Log

Blogging is a rather new form of journalism, in the large span of the history of history (in terms of documentation and nonfiction writing). Why it has become such a large part of our society today can be attributed to several different reasons. In Andrew Sullivan’s article, “Why I Blog,” Sullivan seems to attribute his passion for blogging to the spontaneity of it all; the power of brevity and the immediate feedback from the public. He says, “Blogging requires an embrace of [hazards], a willingness to fall off the trapeze rather than fail to make the leap.”

iflybg

When we blog, we jump headfirst into an audience and prepare ourselves for the possibility of not being caught. We take a risk and we are embraced by some for it and, sometimes, we just find ourselves having plummeted a thousand feet from the sky onto a group of unprepared strangers.

In other words, the benefit of blogging is that we cannot predict the future of anything we post. While this may sound like a deficit to some, Sullivan seems to embrace this as it provides this feeling of growth shared between both the blogger and the followers.

When I was in kindergarten, I started keeping a diary. Here I would write of just about everything I could spew from my mind; what I learned in school, what TV shows I really liked, getting in arguments with my friends—any spew of consciousness. Unbeknownst to me, I was not the only one reading this diary. My older brothers, in their spare time, enjoyed sneaking into my room and stealing this documentation of my history and reading all about my failed efforts to “brain blast” like Jimmy Neutron did.

The reason I am giving this petty, anecdote is because of the relationship I have found between journaling and blogging. Why did my brothers so thoroughly enjoy reading my diary? I am sure part of it had a lot to do with the thrill of just pissing me off, but the other part had a lot to do with why people read blogs. Here I was, throwing myself onto a piece of paper; providing all my thoughts and feelings on certain events, and there they were relating. They had once been in the same place as me, a sophomoric kindergartner and they were going through all the same events I was, just through the perspective of middle school students. It was riveting for them to take on the world from another person’s perspective; whether or not it was with the intention of mocking this person.

Essentially, what I am saying is that, while Sullivan spoke much of why we blog, he neglected to speak of why weistock_000008508482xsmall read blogs. We blog for the sake of spewing out our thoughts and feelings on particular events. The spontaneity of it all feels exhilarating, and even the negative feedback allows us to reflect on our own thoughts. However, we read blogs to live through the minds of those around us.

Blogs would not be so popular were it not for that sense of “stream of consciousness” and “dramatic irony.” When we read a blog, we take on the persona of the author of the blog; we think and feel through their thoughts and biases. When we have finished reading their blog entry, we reflect on it in context to ourselves and then react. This is why blogs are such a significant form of media. In no other form of media can one truly place him or herself in the eyes of another. Most other nonfiction writing just provides the facts; blogs provide the feelings.

Want to read more about blogs? Here’s an interesting blog about blogging!

Written by: Maya Sicherer

Why We(b)Log

2 thoughts on “Why We(b)Log

  1. izzymirmerced says:

    I agree with your post i do think sulivan did leave out some aspects of blogging that are important like why we read bogs. I also enjoyed the example of your brothers reading your diary to connect and be able to relate to your struggles in kindergarden. I enjoyed it because that is the great things that blogs or any good writing does for us. It puts us in another persons shoes to understand something that happened to them or gives us something to relate too because we have already had that experience. To be honest reading blogs is not something i do regularly but with this class it is forcing me to read them more (not in a bad way) and i’m starting to understand how much media is only shows one side to major issues. For example all the news on Donald Trump i cant stand it any more. But with blogs you can search things about the other candidates that are aren’t just running for attention but to really help the country. Or you can find blogs that have more then just one opinion, blogs that interest you or have the same ideals as you. Another great thing is that most bogs are quick they get to the point telling you a lot of information in a couple paragraphs thats important because we live in a society that slows down for no one and if you cant keep up you are left behind.

    Like

  2. carolinasouza says:

    I would just like to start off by saying impressive title, combining “we blog” and “web log” was very clever, as was many of your points! Comparing each post with a headfirst dive into a crowd pretty much nailed blogging on the head. One is completely trusting a group of random people to support them without complete confidence they will understand you and do so. Your comparison of blogging to writing in one’s diary took a turn I did not expect; I expected to be told once again that blogging assists in record keeping as well as diary keeping does. However, you turned my attention to the similar interest both forms of journalism attract readers with: relatable, personable chronicles. Rather than encouraging more writers, you took the article a step further and encouraged readers as well. There are people out there that need to relate to something to retain and learn the lesson from it. Books, newspapers, and articles cannot connect to these specific kind of minds, but blogs have the potential to. Blogs do “provide the feeling,” but they can still also provide the facts, making blogging the most dynamic form of news access.

    Like

Leave a Reply

